My husband is weird

He is currently outside mowing the lawn in a ladies straw hat, a flannel shirt, and grey jogging pants with his socks haphazardly pulled over them. And thick yard gloves on his hands which are currently unnecessary because he’s just pushing the mower around. And while he looks ridiculous, I know he couldn’t care less. So all I can think is “My husband is so weird, but I love that weirdo.”

This is one of the few precious times I feel genuinely endeared towards him. In my previous marriage, I found much about my ex wife to be endearing. I still do. But it’s been hard with my husband, because of his personality disorder, he can be very difficult to love at times. And it’s been more times than not.

We are working on it. One struggle at a time. One hard worn conversation at a time. There is progress, it’s just very slow.

But I enjoy these moments, when I can look at him and find myself easily loving him. Finding him adorable, even. I hope these moments grow, like the weeds that pop up in our yard. Quietly and then suddenly.

About samlobos

I am an avid fan of creating narratives in my head about random experiences and quotes for future books I will probably not write. I harbor a 15 year old girl in my psyche and like to solve world issues when I'm half asleep. View all posts by samlobos

3 responses to “My husband is weird

Leave a comment