Contradictions

Image result for three women images

There is a young, fragile girl inside of me

She thinks things are beautiful and simple

She believes in fairy tales, true love, and “just because”

There is an old, strong woman inside of me

She is too weary and wise to think anything could be less than messy and complex

She believes in hard work, determination, and “there’s a purpose”

There is someone in between the two of them

She is too young to be considered old and too old to be considered young

She is me

I need both the young girl and the old woman

Both keep me grounded and free

Innocent and knowledgeable

Safe and reckless

Hopeful and realistic

Maybe the contradictions make me insane

The voices in my head have been known to spar

But three is good company

At least, I think so

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About samlobos

I am an avid fan of creating narratives in my head about random experiences and quotes for future books I will probably not write. I harbor a 15 year old girl in my psyche and like to solve world issues when I'm half asleep. View all posts by samlobos

2 responses to “Contradictions

Leave a Reply

