The Devastator

Image result for surrender images

I watch as words tumble vulnerably out of his mouth

Words of hope and reassurance

Of apologies, love, and gaining understanding

As a tear seeps out of the corner of his eye, I think to myself, “This man devastates me”

His words penetrate into the core of my heart and I feel the ice melt away

His boyish earnest to make things right demolishes the block wall I carefully began construction on

The eager sincerity in his eyes forces the solders of doubt to retreat back into the dark recesses of my psyche

His tender touch disassembles the spikey armor I designed especially for occasions like this

Just as I begin to admit surrender, he says, “You don’t have to thank me for sticking with you. I want to be here”

This confirms the inevitable

I have been conquered

But I’ll happily stay his prisoner for the rest of my days

About samlobos

I am an avid fan of creating narratives in my head about random experiences and quotes for future books I will probably not write. I harbor a 15 year old girl in my psyche and like to solve world issues when I'm half asleep. View all posts by samlobos

2 responses to “The Devastator

Leave a Reply

