Dancing with demons

Image result for Dancing Demons Art

There is a part of me that wants to be this happy forever

To feel this peace

This lack of turmoil

I want to believe that this is reality

But I don’t trust it to stay

I hold my breath every day, waiting for the next earthquake

I look for warning signs everywhere

That’s no way to live

Experience has taught me that when you let your guard down, it all turns to shit

That can’t be everyone’s truth

Right?

I know sadness well

There is comfort in the melancholy

My twisted security blanket, which also suffocates me

I want so badly to be free of it for good, even more than I ache to be held by it once again

I suppose they wouldn’t be called demons if they were easy to deal with

I pray this will last

More importantly, I pray to breathe with ease regardless

 

 

 

About samlobos

I am an avid fan of creating narratives in my head about random experiences and quotes for future books I will probably not write. I harbor a 15 year old girl in my psyche and like to solve world issues when I'm half asleep. View all posts by samlobos

8 responses to “Dancing with demons

  • laurelwolfelives

    This is so good Sam. I was reading it and looking at the picture and when I finished, I thought “would I sell my soul for one minute of happiness?” It sure would be tempting.
    You’re scared, I think. Do you find yourself thinking “this is too good to be true?”
    Sometimes, something that seems too good to be true, turns out to be just that….true. 🙂

  • survivednarc

    Always waiting for the other shoe to drop… I am like that too, although I try not to be. But I guess after a certain age and certain life experiences, it just can’t be helped that we become a bit more skeptical towards what seems too good to be true etc. And the truth is that nothing good lasts forever. We can only enjoy it while it is there, and cherish it and do our best, and hope that it lasts as long as possible. I think you are doing very well. Just keep the hope alive, and enjoy the calm and the love. And know that you will be alright no matter what. You are enough.🌹 And I am so glad that you have this love with this person now. I keep my fingers crossed that it will last a very long time! You deserve it Hugs

  • Crystal Empath

    I know this all too well. ❤

Leave a Reply

