This Too Shall Pass

I know he often wonders why I’m so obsessed with my dog

I’m not sure he quite understands just how priceless Valentine is to me

You see, Valentine is always present

With every celebration or tragedy, he’s there with me, watching the changes make their mark

And there have been so many changes

And so many marks

Lately it hurts so much inside

Tears gently roll down my cheek but my heart screams in agony

Valentine kisses the salt from my skin

It’s almost as though he tries to lick away the pain with all his might

I wish with all my being that he could

When everyone else is gone, my furry companion keeps me company

In the darkest hours and the brightest days

He’s my one constant here on earth

During the moments when I feel like giving up,

I look into his big, brown buggley eyes and find comfort when comfort is hard to find

He helps ground me when I need it most because sometimes you just need to feel another body besides you

I can always count on him

No matter what

That is why I love him so much

That is why he’s the center of my world

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About samlobos

I am an avid fan of creating narratives in my head about random experiences and quotes for future books I will probably not write. I harbor a 15 year old girl in my psyche and like to solve world issues when I'm half asleep. View all posts by samlobos

7 responses to “This Too Shall Pass

Leave a Reply

