Say it again

My latest post on Conceited Crusade

Image result for man holding woman

Google images

 

Forgive me when I have to ask you to repeat it over and over again

I don’t quite believe that you won’t leave

I’ve been left before

Is it so very difficult to love me?

I suppose love isn’t ever the problem

Declaring it is easy

It’s the commitment

The try

The sacrifice

The consistency

Do I ask for too much?

I never ask for more than I give

I’m sorry I’m not perfect

But I’m not sorry I’m demanding

I don’t see anything wrong with knowing what I want and asking for it

I didn’t always do that but I’ll never not do it again

You can’t see the scars on my heart

Or how close to death I’ve come

All you see is the sadness in my eyes

And the tears that keep them company

They say love is all you need

I’ve learned that’s not true

Sometimes love is not enough

That’s been my hardest lesson

Because of this, I struggle to be sure of you

I just want to be sure

So please, say it again

About samlobos

I am an avid fan of creating narratives in my head about random experiences and quotes for future books I will probably not write. I harbor a 15 year old girl in my psyche and like to solve world issues when I'm half asleep. View all posts by samlobos

3 responses to “Say it again

  • survivednarc

    šŸ’–šŸ’œšŸ’› No strange feelings at all, I think many of us with scars feel this way! It is so good that you are putting it into words. āš˜

  • laurelwolfelives

    I hear fear but it’s unclear to me whether it’s fear of him not giving you what you need or fear of yourself for doubting that he can.
    Those scars on our hearts are always going to be there Sam. But I have tried to liken them to wrinkles in our brains. The more wrinkles you have, the smarter you are. The more scars you have on your heart, the more you have suffered…and the more you have survived. Who wants a smooth brain….or a pristine heart? You can’t possibly appreciate true joy, unless you have known great sorrow.

    • samlobos

      Written so well and so true. It’s a fear of not being sure that he’ll stick around because I will keep making demands until my needs are met. He knows that and has told me he’s not going anywhere, but I still sometimes wonder.

Leave a Reply

