Wake up

Image result for dreaming images

I greet him at the door, face freshly washed of work’s leftover makeup.

I am in Mickey Mouse pajama shorts and a grey tank top.

He holds me close, hugging me and covering my face and neck in soft kisses.

He tells me he missed me.

Then he pulls away and studies me, holding my face in his hands.

He looks at me as though it’s been years, and I’ve greeted him with a professionally done up face and an evening gown.

He says, “Your beauty overwhelms the memory I have of it.”

It’s right about then I wonder when I am going to wake up.

Except, it is not a dream.

And it’s only been a day since we last saw each other.

About samlobos

I am an avid fan of creating narratives in my head about random experiences and quotes for future books I will probably not write. I harbor a 15 year old girl in my psyche and like to solve world issues when I'm half asleep. View all posts by samlobos

10 responses to “Wake up

Leave a Reply

