Our Destiny

Image result for couple holding hands in dark

From Google images

 

I study him

I’ve memorized the lines of his face

The length of his lashes

The shape of his teeth

But I’ve yet to memorize his eyes

Because when he looks into mine

With those blue sparkles of his

My heart stops

I want to stay in his gaze forever and hide from it all at once

I want to identify every speck in the blue

Use them to stay afloat while swimming in his ocean

Then curl into the black of his pupils to sleep

His eyes are a spotlight

They shine on the frailty that is my psyche

Call attention to unrealized feelings

Emotions too overwhelming for me to release

My spirit stirs like a sleeping phoenix

Waiting to be woken

I can’t linger in his gaze

For fear I would be consumed by the fire he stokes inside

Yet I ache for his eyes

For the spell they put on me

The melody of words they silently sing

And the way they pull at my soul to join his

Hand in hand we walk

Our hearts leading the way

Past twists and turns

Shadows and dead ends

As though it is destiny

About samlobos

I am an avid fan of creating narratives in my head about random experiences and quotes for future books I will probably not write. I harbor a 15 year old girl in my psyche and like to solve world issues when I'm half asleep. View all posts by samlobos

23 responses to “Our Destiny

Leave a Reply

