Hummingbirds and God


Since I was a little girl, every time I saw a rare, delicate beauty of nature, I imagined I was seeing a special part of God.

Butterflies, ladybugs, dragonflies, and hummingbirds were part of this group.

I still feel that way today.

Except now when I see them, I imagine it’s God saying “Hello”, reminding me that he’s around.

I just need to stay still enough to notice.

I’ve been very discouraged and worried lately.

There are many reasons, but one big one is that I’m barely making it financially.

It sucks to have to charge things like groceries and gas on the regular.

There is hope on the horizon, though.

I interviewed to get a salaried position at my current job and I’m waiting to hear the verdict.

If I get it, it would provide a vast amount of relief for me.

I’d be able to stay where I’m at and have enough money to pay all my bills and even have some spare to save.

If I don’t get it,  then as much as I absolutely love my job, I will be forced to look for a new one.

I really hope I get it.

I pray and tell God that I trust him no matter what, because I do, even if I don’t  always like or understand the outcome.

Still, sometimes my heart gets heavy.

This afternoon it was particularly burdened.

I was sitting in my dining room, eating my lunch and looking outside to my patio.

I had bought a hummingbird feeder and put it up a week ago.

I love seeing hummingbirds and knowing that I am helping them, especially since it’s difficult for them to find sufficient enough food here in the city.

I had yet to see any hummingbirds come to my feeder, however.

The level of food had diminished ever so slightly, which I figured was due to the sweltering heat as of late.

For whatever reason (mostly because I’m neurotic) it has been concerning me that no hummingbirds are benefitting from my provision.

I’ve been trying to figure out why that is: maybe they migrated, maybe it’s too hot, maybe they don’t like my feeder…

These thoughts just add to my discouragement.

Feeling the weight of my worry, I sat at my table and prayed.

I said, “I trust you. I’m so worried. But I know it will be okay.”

Immediately after I prayed that, a flutter caught my eye.

There was a rather large hummingbird checking out my feeder.

That one left and then moments later, another smaller one came to eat.

I watched, almost in shock.

Then I burst into tears.

Because it felt like God had given me a hug.

I was as if  he said to me, “I hear you. I’m here.”

This also made me realize that the food wasn’t evaporating because of the heat, it was diminishing because the hummingbirds had found it when I wasn’t looking.

God has been around the whole time.

I just don’t always see or feel it.

Faith is a vastly personal thing.

I know not everyone feels the same way about God as I do.

But this is my experience of him and it is good.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About samlobos

I am an avid fan of creating narratives in my head about random experiences and quotes for future books I will probably not write. I harbor a 15 year old girl in my psyche and like to solve world issues when I'm half asleep. View all posts by samlobos

13 responses to “Hummingbirds and God

  • Tricia Sankey

    Love this! God will provide and synchronicity or God winks always intrigue me. I have experienced my share as well.

  • survivednarc

    What a wonderful story about faith. I wish I could get some new signs to make me believe again, (if there is a god). But perhaps it will come. Or not. I’ll be alright either way.
    I do like to hear stories about faith though, I find it beautiful even if they are not mine. Sort of like looking at beautiful, inspiring art, or yes, reading a hopeful story in a book. It is still inspiring even if it is not “mine”.
    I am glad for you that you have this faith. 😊💜

  • YuMin Ye

    I am so glad you shared this! It brings me hope and I know we have more in common than our writing. I’ll be praying for you.

  • My Made Up Hard Life

    What a cool story. It is hard for me to remember a lot of times and makes me worry too, but God is here and sometimes we just need to see something like this to help us on our journey.

  • Steven Humphreys

    The title of your site caught my eye. I got a kick out of it. That’s exactly what I call myself once in a while just to feel sorry for myself, get sympathy from my wife, or put myself down joking around like guys seem to do once in a while. But on the serious side, you can kid with yourself about the ‘loser’ part, but don’t believe it. It’s not true. I am not one, and I know you are not, either. I have a hummingbird feeder myself, and they come along to drink of it every now and then. But, the heat does affect them. And, with a new feeder, they have to learn it’s there. I think they tell their friends, spreading the word in the neighborhood. HA! And, God has his mysterious ways about him. I have these Doves that hang around my yard when something’s happening in my life. They come and go, showing up at the most peculiar times. Your job situation will work out. Hey, it’s only a job. It’s not the end of the world. I will pray for your success. Believe in you, and then by that alone, you can do it. Keep on writing. I think this is the place where you can get the support you need for continuing the art. I have gotten likes and comments that were really cool and made me feel great! Hang in there, OK? You will do just fine. I am positive.

    • samlobos

      Thank you. I appreciate your encouragement. Sometimes things feel very overwhelming and little signs like that remind me that I’m not alone.

      As for the title of my site, I created it 3 years ago when I got fired from my job and felt very much like a loser. I’ve since recovered (mostly) from feeling that way and now it’s more of a tongue in cheek thing. 😉

Leave a Reply

