Exposure

My post on the Crusade this week. I almost didn’t post anything. It would have been the first time I missed a post since it started, almost one year ago in May. Didn’t want to mess up my streak after all…

Borrowed from Google images

 

I’m feeling exposed

Sliced open and flayed

My soul on display

Come have a look

The bright lights let no flaw go unnoticed

Here’s a magnifying glass

You can see every dirty secret up close

I’ll try not to squirm

I’ll hold my head up with my hands if I have to

Force myself to look you in the eye

Even though I want to hide

Cover up my nakedness and turn off all the lights

Then I remind myself

I cut myself open

Turned on the lights

Handed you the magnifying glass

And said “Look”

I expose myself

Because maybe if I show my shortcomings

It’ll make them less ugly

In my mind

having secrets makes me feel more

vulnerable

than being exposed

About samlobos

I am an avid fan of creating narratives in my head about random experiences and quotes for future books I will probably not write. I harbor a 15 year old girl in my psyche and like to solve world issues when I'm half asleep. View all posts by samlobos

8 responses to “Exposure

  • survivednarc

    Aah,, those damn secrets…. They are heavy! Shortcomings, yes, we all have them. Haha now I remember a quote from an old movie that I have to write to you here, long quote, so part of it at least: ” We aren’t here to make things perfect. The snowflakes are perfect. The stars are perfect. Not us. Not us! We are here to ruin ourselves and to break our hearts and love the wrong people and *die*. The storybooks are *bullshit*.” /Ronny Cammareri (Nicholas Cage), in “Moonstruck”. Oh, and he ends it with: “Now I want you to come upstairs with me and *get* in my bed! ” said to Cher’s character. Haha. I LOVE him in that movie. 😀 So remember, snowflakes are perfect. Not us, sweetie. Hugs!!

  • survivednarc

    Thanks. I realized it might have come off as a bit too cheerful my comment, considering it is a heavy and serious feeling that is described here. I do understand and can relate to every word of that feeling. I have dark secrets I’ve never told anyone… perhaps everyone does.. Anyway, I just wanted to give a more serious response and say that I hope that you feel lighter by writing and sharing these feelings, like you did in this post. Hugs!

  • laurelwolfelives

    If we didn’t have shortcomings we would be perfect. If we were perfect, we’d all be in Heaven. 🙂

Leave a Reply

