And so I ran

I ran to Laguna Beach

I left work, packed up Valentine, changed my shoes and drove

The minute I started driving, I could feel the weight lifting

I arrived, a bit frazzled but determined

Ready to find my peace

We walked to a less populated spot and I dumped my stuff in the sand, left my shoes and made way to the ancient blue

Valentine has never been to the beach

It’s been over a year since I’ve been last

The cool water felt perfect

V didn’t like it as much

A little girl made conversation with me

About Valentine and swimming

She told me she couldn’t go in the deep end of swimming pools

I told her neither could I

V and I made our way up to the grassy area of the cliff

There we sat and dried out

He became playful and did his cute running around in circles dance

I laughed and chased him

In that moment, there were no worries

I sat and took in the sun, the waves, the calm

Perspective filtered in

Were things really as big as they seemed?

Was it really so scary that I had to run and hide?

The feeling of being completely overwhelmed dissipated

I almost forgot what I was running from

In this paradise, I’m reminded of how small I am

The world is too big to get stuck

Me and V, we got this

I won’t be running anymore


  
  


About samlobos

I am an avid fan of creating narratives in my head about random experiences and quotes for future books I will probably not write. I harbor a 15 year old girl in my psyche and like to solve world issues when I'm half asleep. View all posts by samlobos

12 responses to “And so I ran

Leave a Reply

