I choose…

 

I know what it’s like to be admired

To be wanted, desired, chased after, caught, loved

I know what it’s like to want, to desire, to chase, to catch, and to love

I know how to date like the best of them

I know what it feels like to share, to give, to receive

I know what it’s like to learn

And now I just want to be

I want to fill my time with things I love

Pursue things I’ve forgotten I enjoy

Fall in love with me

I want to enjoy not being ruled by should’s or should nots

I want to enjoy Saturday mornings wondering why Valentine likes that fake bone so much

I want to stand in the cool breeze in my pajamas, my thoughts as empty as the air passing through me

I want to make a wish on the moon

I want to make that wish come true

I want to sit in the shade of an ancient tree and thank God for its protection

I want to doย it alone

This is my choice, devoid of frustration or hopelessness

This is not me giving up or running scared

This is what I want, in this moment

It may not be what I want forever

But it’s what I want right now

This is me making a choice

I’m choosing me

 

About samlobos

I am an avid fan of creating narratives in my head about random experiences and quotes for future books I will probably not write. I harbor a 15 year old girl in my psyche and like to solve world issues when I'm half asleep. View all posts by samlobos

10 responses to “I choose…

Leave a Reply

