The dark of the moon

I wrote this for the Crusade. Today I had a training at work and was prompted to draw my “safe place”. I immediately drew a moon. Because melancholy is what I know best. It’s extremely hard for me to stay in the sun. The struggle of anyone used to lifelong depression.

My safe place is amongst the craters of the moon

There I can disappear

There I can be alone

There I can wallow

The black feels like a blanket

As Melancholy covers me and tells me bedtime stories

My brother, Despair, and my sister, Hopeless are never far away

I settle into this comfort

Knowing exactly what to expect

Knowing exactly how to feel

Knowing exactly what to do

This is my default

When I feel lost

and need the familiar

I run away to hide

Not in the warmth of the sun

Or the shine of the stars

But in the dark of the moon

About samlobos

I am an avid fan of creating narratives in my head about random experiences and quotes for future books I will probably not write. I harbor a 15 year old girl in my psyche and like to solve world issues when I'm half asleep. View all posts by samlobos

4 responses to “The dark of the moon

Leave a Reply

