The Psychic

“Are you tired?” He asked in his quizzical voice.

“Yes, a little bit,” I replied.

“Seems like you’ve been tired for a long time.”

I considered the weight of his simple statement.

The emotional toil I’ve endured over the past 3 years indeed has made me very tired.

I wondered if he had a special connection with the world that allowed him to know these things.

Like some type of autistic psychic.

“Yes, you’re right, I’ve been tired for a long time.”

“We’re you this tired in 2014?”

I considered what happened in 2014. There was my family ignoring my marriage, murder, financial woes, my divorce.

“Yes, I was tired in 2014.”

“What about 2012? Were you tired then?”

I thought about 2012.

I remember finishing school, excitement over a new house, comfort in a steady job, security in my relationship, feeling like dreams were coming true.

“No, I wasn’t so tired in 2012.”

“Not as tired as you are now.”

I looked at his hazel eyes, magnified by his boxy glasses, large headphones resting crookedly on his head to drown out any annoying noises and the peculiar expression he had whenever he was waiting for a response.

He was different, anyone could see that.

But I don’t think anyone knows just how insightful he is.

Or that sometimes he can tell the future.

“Yes, I’m tired now,” I said, feeling a surge of hope inject my veins. “But it’s getting better.”

Much better, I thought.

 

 

*Note: This is an actual conversation I had with my student today.

About samlobos

I am an avid fan of creating narratives in my head about random experiences and quotes for future books I will probably not write. I harbor a 15 year old girl in my psyche and like to solve world issues when I'm half asleep. View all posts by samlobos

14 responses to “The Psychic

Leave a Reply

