Undercurrent

My latest post on the Crusade.

Borrowed from Google Images

 

The best way to describe my personality is to compare it to an undercurrent.

I am, in my own way, a quiet force of nature.

People underestimate the power of undercurrents all the time.

On the surface, the water looks calm and harmless, making it easy to overestimate one’s ability to take it on.

It’s only when someone experiences it and feels the force and weight of its pull, that they realize just how wrong they were to miscalculate it.

That is me.

I am an undercurrent.

I’ve been underestimated my whole life.

I come from a humble background.

I look and act unassuming.

I’m quiet and sweet.

I’m approachable and laid back.

And I deal with depression.

Because of this, assumptions have been made about me in the past and sometimes(although rarely) currently.

By lots of people, including my own family members.

Assumptions that I need saving, that I’m weak, submissive, complacent, unmotivated, conventional, ordinary, needy, naive, a floormat, easily swayed, simple, intimidated, and unsure of myself.

My abilities have also been grossly underestimated.

My ability to survive, deal with crazy shit, speak up, fight, get things done, understand and progress as well as my resilience, wisdom, insight, tenacity, and internal strength, all have been surprising to someone at some point.

I used to get annoyed by it.

Now I just smile and wait for the person to wade confidently into my current.

Anyone who has ever been in or watched an undercurrent in action develops respect for it.

I am presently surrounded by people who respect me because they’ve been on either side of that experience.

I have no need to announce myself when I enter a room.

I’m not power hungry or status starved.

I don’t need to be the prettiest, smartest, most popular or charming girl around.

I just am who I am.

That is my power.

It makes me scary to some.

Intriguing to others.

But respected by most.

Because self-possession is a thing to admire.

There is something alluring, dangerous, and interesting about it all at once.

And it should never be underestimated.

About samlobos

I am an avid fan of creating narratives in my head about random experiences and quotes for future books I will probably not write. I harbor a 15 year old girl in my psyche and like to solve world issues when I'm half asleep. View all posts by samlobos

16 responses to “Undercurrent

Leave a Reply

