Hard

Even as the loneliness tries to cripple me, I am fighting to keep perspective.

It’s hard when it seems like everyone has someone.

When your parents call because they are worried about you.

When you spend most of your time alone.

When the ache is strong and there’s a holiday meant to exacerbate it.

When the only constant affection you receive is from a warm, furry body that can’t speak.

When all the movies and songs are about something you are missing.

When time seems to crawl by and the silence is so loud.

When it hurts to remember times when you weren’t lonely.

I try not to focus on that.

But it’s so hard.

 

 

 

About samlobos

I am an avid fan of creating narratives in my head about random experiences and quotes for future books I will probably not write. I harbor a 15 year old girl in my psyche and like to solve world issues when I'm half asleep. View all posts by samlobos

9 responses to “Hard

  • Miss Evelyn

    Just try to think on the positive. It’s not you, but them…

  • survivednarc

    I know these feelings I felt them to just as I woke up today. But then I said to myself; screw that, this is Sunday I have the day off and I’ll be damned if I am going to waste that.. and then I wrote a loving/rebellious post to all of us. And now I feel better again.. 😊 everything passes, sweet friend.

    I know I am not the kind of love you want right now, but the advantage with me atm, is that I am here..😉 and sending you love.💞💕💗💘💝 You are an amazing person! Hugs!

    • samlobos

      I’m still sleeping but I wake up periodically throughout the night so I will read your lovely post once I’m fully awake. I am so grateful to have your support and understanding. 💙 It helps me when those waves of loneliness threaten to take over. I’m glad we can be there for each other, riding the waves together. You have a beautiful heart, my friend. 😊

  • laurelwolfelives

    I know how you feel but when I think about it….I was married for forty years and I was always lonely…..so….what’s changed? I’m no longer lonely….I’m just alone. There’s a difference.

    • samlobos

      Yes, you are completely right. Towards the end of my marriage, I felt completely lonely. I’m riding the waves, trying not to get caught up in them. Sometimes it’s harder than others. 💙

      • laurelwolfelives

        I think that’s testimony to who you were married to…if you’re “with” somebody and you’re lonely….something is missing. I’d rather be alone by myself than lonely with somebody who is supposed to be my life partner and is absent physically, mentally and emotionally.
        Keep riding those waves….something good is coming your way….I just know it!

      • samlobos

        Thank you. 😊I’m the same way, I’d rather be alone than be with someone and feel lonely. 💙

Leave a Reply

