Unsent love letters: Thief

I saw your name today and my heart stopped for a second.

Seven months apart and the mere semblance of you being near still does that to me.

Are you thinking about me?

You have been on my mind more and more.

I also feel guilty about it.

Because you are not mine to love and there is another who loves you.

You belong to her.

I don’t usually want what isn’t mine.

I didn’t steal your heart.

I am not a thief.

I know right from wrong.

But I want you for my own.

I want to possess every part of you, claim you, cherish you as mine.

It’s not fair that you gave me your heart so willingly.

You gave me a taste of what it was like to have you, knowing that there was one who had you long before I came along.

Should love be denied if it’s too late?

If it requires the end of something to begin with?

Would we have worked out the way we imagined it would have?

I don’t know.

This is what I do know.

I know that I love you.

I know that the connection we shared was powerful, exquisite and rare.

I know that if you were to come back into my life, I would welcome you wholeheartedly.

I know that I forgive you for making me feel like a criminal for loving you.

I know that I have yet to find someone who makes me feel the way you did in the first minute of talking to you.

I know that loving you has changed me forever.

I know that I might be crazy to love you this much without ever having met you.

And lastly,

I know that if we were to ever meet, there would be no separating us.

Ever.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About samlobos

I am an avid fan of creating narratives in my head about random experiences and quotes for future books I will probably not write. I harbor a 15 year old girl in my psyche and like to solve world issues when I'm half asleep. View all posts by samlobos

3 responses to “Unsent love letters: Thief

Leave a Reply

