Unsent Love Letters: Great loves

My love,

I feel lost.

It has nothing to do with me living without you, I know I can and I am doing it.

I just feel lost in life.

I can talk to my friends about it and it helps some.

But the person that evokes that feeling of true comfort inside me is you.

You are the person I want to talk to, to hear from, to be reassured by.

I don’t know why that is, since I didn’t know you for very long.

Truth is, I said goodbye to the one person who knew me inside and out for 13 years and I never thought I’d find that type of unconditional love and acceptance in a partner again.

She knew everything about me and accepted it, until I started growing too fast for her.

She eventually stopped really seeing and understanding me, the new, evolved version of me.

That’s when it ended.

And then I found you.

Or rather, destiny drew us together.

You accepted and loved the new, evolved me, in addition to my past.

I accepted and loved you unconditionally, even while knowing all that I knew.

I felt completely safe being emotionally naked with you, who was virtual stranger to me.

I know you felt the same way.

The connection we shared, it doesn’t happen every day.

I miss it.

I don’t know how many different ways I can write how much I miss you.

Just when I think I’ve used all the words up, more come.

The same is true of my love for you.

Just when I think it’s dwindling down, that I’m moving on, it rushes at me like a giant wave.

I don’t spend my time thinking about you.

Not anymore.

I try to go along my business, doing what is necessary to keep moving.

But you are always there, lurking in the shadows of my day.

I don’t know how to be free of you.

You let me go but I am not released.

I feel like a prisoner in my own heart.

These letters are the only relief I get.

Sending you my love through written words floating aimlessly in the air, hoping they will somehow find you.

Maybe someday I will read these and feel foolish for being so enamored with you.

Or maybe someday I will have moved on but a part of me will still feel the exact same way.

Great loves never really die no matter how hard you try to kill them.

 

 

 

 

 

 

About samlobos

I am an avid fan of creating narratives in my head about random experiences and quotes for future books I will probably not write. I harbor a 15 year old girl in my psyche and like to solve world issues when I'm half asleep. View all posts by samlobos

7 responses to “Unsent Love Letters: Great loves

Leave a Reply

