Stripped

Depression strips you to your core. 

It’s a vulnerable place to be.

At my core, I’m sweet, docile, and patient. 

This is what I’m like when I’m depressed. 

I need gentle.

 I need sweet. 

Thoughtful. 

Understanding. 

Patient. 

Loving. 

Kind.

For all my big spunk and ferocity, I’m really harmless. 

Soft.

This is something only the people I trust experience in its rawest form.

Unless I’m depressed.

Then everyone gets to experience it. 

Because I have no strength to put up guards.

I have no energy to fight and protect myself.

I’m a turtle without a shell. 

So please, be kind.

At my core, I just want to be loved and appreciated. 

I have more in common with an abused dog trying to please its new owner because it’s just so grateful it has a better home than I do with a pampered dog that’s always been secure about its place.

My thoughts and words are my soul. 

So please, be gentle with it.

I’m raw love right now.

Unfiltered and pure.

I don’t have my usual defenses.

In my pain, I find comfort in loving.

Please don’t abuse or reject it.

I’m sharing my secrets.

I think this is the most vulnerable I’ve been in awhile.

And I’m too exhausted to be terrified of it.

About samlobos

I am an avid fan of creating narratives in my head about random experiences and quotes for future books I will probably not write. I harbor a 15 year old girl in my psyche and like to solve world issues when I'm half asleep. View all posts by samlobos

9 responses to “Stripped

Leave a Reply

