Unsent love letters: Us

I wonder if you think of me

If little things remind you of us

That song is forever our song

I hear it on the radio and think of how we were

What we would have given up for each other

You were right, it described us perfectly

I didn’t realize how poignant it would become at the time

I guess I was just enjoying the moment

I would have moved the world for you, you know?

Uprooted my life and planted myself in a strange place, all to be with you

I sometimes wonder if you came back to me, if I would feel the same way

If I would be as willing to forsake everything I’ve ever known for someone I haven’t even met

My mind says no, of course not

But my heart, well, my heart is yours

And we both know how stubborn and strong willed it is

Truth be told, I felt like I knew you long before we spoke

I know I shouldn’t say it, but our souls were separated in a previous life and they found each other too late in this one

I know you felt it too

I knew in that first interaction that I had met my match

How disappointed I was when I found out you were spoken for

How surprised I was when we unintentionally fell for each other anyway

It was so easy, too easy

Like two puzzle pieces finding their fit

I often wonder if you would have been able to let go of me so easily if we had met

If the physical contact would have sealed our connection, fusing us permanently

I know, it wasn’t as easy for you as I make it sound

You did love me, more than I imagined

After all, you walked all the way up to the edge with me

Stared down to the unknown and held my hand

But you just couldn’t take that leap

I wanted so badly to nudge you, to influence your decision

I wanted to fight, to beg, to plead

But I loved you and wanted you to choose of your own will

What you felt was right for you

I didn’t feel like I had the right to fight for you

I would have, though

I would have been the fiercest warrior

Giving anything to make sure there was an us in the end

There’s nothing I can say now

No magic words to conjure you back up

I love you, my nerd

If you forget everything else, never forget that

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About samlobos

I am an avid fan of creating narratives in my head about random experiences and quotes for future books I will probably not write. I harbor a 15 year old girl in my psyche and like to solve world issues when I'm half asleep. View all posts by samlobos

3 responses to “Unsent love letters: Us

  • survivednarc

    So much love! I want to fall in love when reading this. 💜 🙂

  • dropsy

    I feel so much of your longing in this post. “I didn’t feel like I had the right to fight for you” – this line is especially poignant, because I felt the same way. I let him go, perhaps a little too easily. To him I was perhaps, flippant and dismissive. I hope they both know we didn’t give up for us, we gave up for them.

    • samlobos

      Yes. I always told him I wanted him to choose for himself, from the beginning. That I didn’t want to pressure him either way. But if I had the chance now, there’s so much I would want to say…

Leave a Reply

