Unsent love letters: Dare

To my hazel eyed poltergeist:

 

I dare you not to love me

I dare you to let go of what you cling to

The certainty that tethers you to the ground

As you reach towards my hand to where I stand

So high above from where you are

I dare you to stare into my eyes and not look away

I dare you not to get lost in the golden specks and dilated pupils

The eyes that entranced you before you even met the woman behind them

The ones that still haunt your daydreams

Eyes that shine with your reflection

I dare you to listen to my voice and not get goosebumps

I dare you to stop your heart from jumping when I laugh

The melody you grew to crave

It’s soothing tone washing over you

Caressing you like a blanket of warm sound

I dare you to return

I dare you to see how long you last in my proximity without wanting more

Falling even deeper than before

That itch you swore you’d gotten rid of

Back like a rash covering your entire body

I dare you to forget me

I dare you to pretend like I never existed

The woman who showed you love when all you sought was affection

The one who turned your world upside down

The one you almost risked everything for

I dare you because I know you won’t accept the challenge

You can’t

You won’t win

That’s why you are still gone

 

 

 

 

About samlobos

I am an avid fan of creating narratives in my head about random experiences and quotes for future books I will probably not write. I harbor a 15 year old girl in my psyche and like to solve world issues when I'm half asleep. View all posts by samlobos

10 responses to “Unsent love letters: Dare

Leave a Reply

