Strange

Originally from August, but where I’m at, once again…
Goes along with my other recent post, Comfort.

Am I the only loser out there?

Comfort comes in the strangest of forms.

I’ve found it in a hug, a listening ear, a silent place.

A stranger’s kind words, the remembrance of a happy time, the sight of a butterfly.

A deep breath, loud sobs, a soft bed.

The warm sun, a splatter of black paint, the feel of computer keys.

A child’s voice, a dog’s fur, the smell of tangerines.

The passage of time, a cool breeze, the right song.

A pretty dress, ice cream, a tattoo.

A children’s book, a long drive, another’s story.

The feel of burlap, a deep purple bruise, the same movie.

A whispered prayer, a slew of curse words, a hopeful fantasy.

Midnight, knowing time zones, a fading scar.

Sometimes it’s comforting to tease out the pain, to tear my heart open and let the blood gush.

Pushing and prodding until it’s intolerable and I pass out from exhaustion.

Other times it’s comforting to avoid…

View original post 74 more words

About samlobos

I am an avid fan of creating narratives in my head about random experiences and quotes for future books I will probably not write. I harbor a 15 year old girl in my psyche and like to solve world issues when I'm half asleep. View all posts by samlobos

Leave a Reply

