In other thoughts…

Okay, so I’m just going to admit it, I really like the new Selena Gomez song “Same Old Love”.

I know, I know.

It’s slightly embarrassing.

But I have it on repeat.

If you listen to the lyrics, you’d understand why I like it so much.

And it has sort of a spunky edge to it, almost like a “fuck it” vibe.

Anyway, that’s how I’ve been feeling lately.

In other thoughts, in case you were wondering, that last post was inspired by memories of my ex-wife.

She had the softest, fullest lips.

Just like pillows.

That’s not the story of how I met her, however.

We met in college and were friends for about a year before anything happened.

But I was the first one to make a move.

When I want someone or something, I generally go for it.

Maybe I’ll write our story someday.

What’s unique about it is that neither of us were attracted to other women before each other.

I finally found the sexual orientation title that seems to fit me best not too long ago.

I’m pansexual.

I’ve mentioned this briefly before.

Pansexual means that you are attracted to the person and gender or gender identity is not a deciding factor in the attraction.

This is the only way I can explain why I fell in love with my ex without being physically attracted to her first.

I just saw her as a person, the fact that she was a woman had no relevance to how I felt.

It was only after I fell for her that I became physically attracted to her.

And if I look at crushes I’ve had in the past, although they’ve all been guys, most of them were guys I was not physically attracted to first.

It was who they were (or who I perceived they were) that attracted me.

So even though I’m primarily attracted to men, that’s how I identify.

Because really, who knows who I’ll end up falling in love with next.

About samlobos

I am an avid fan of creating narratives in my head about random experiences and quotes for future books I will probably not write. I harbor a 15 year old girl in my psyche and like to solve world issues when I'm half asleep. View all posts by samlobos

4 responses to “In other thoughts…

  • learning to live like water

    Interesting….. I am definitely attracted to me, an to attractive men, lol. But the older I get, the less important their physical attraction is and the more important who they are at their center is. It’s good you know yourself. I appreciate the insight.

  • sonofabeach96

    True definition of love is blind. Interesting concept. I’m kinda similar in that all the women I’ve ever loved were friends first. Love certainly isn’t attraction based solely, at least it hasn’t been for me. I have to genuinely “like” someone first. Even my wife, as we were friends for two years before we even started dating. It just grew from there.

  • rachel

    i love that you see the person and not the gender. it’s the same with skin color. we fall for the people inside not the pretty package they come in. ❤️

  • Hector

    I believe that at nine weeks as a fetus we are all the same. Having a vagina or a penis does not make a difference in being a person. What we learn from childhood is what dictates how we feel more than nature itself. Nice to have the freedom of falling in love with anyone regardless of gender 🙂 Nice!

Leave a Reply

