Three day quote challenge: Day Two

– Unknown

This quote is part of a much longer inspirational poem. But this was the part that was given to me.

In weeks when I was struggling to decide whether I wanted to stay married or not, I leaned heavily on my new boss, who became my good friend, Olivia. I didn’t have anyone else I trusted to confide in the way I confided in her. She also knew to an extent, the process and pain I was going through since she had her own similar marital troubles the year prior and had struggled with the same decision I was facing.

When I finally decided that I could no longer stay married, I was largely on my own. My family was as supportive as they could be, but my emotional support was really Olivia. In the midst of weathering the angst and loneliness that comes with a separation and divorce, Olivia sent me this exact picture with this quote and said, “This is you.”

This was a profound statement. No one besides my ex-wife had ever told me that I was brave before. It stuck in my heart because I had never really taken time to reflect on the challenges and changes I took on and just how scary it all was. I was just trying to survive.

I do a lot of things on my own. And I don’t let being alone or afraid hinder my desire to experience things. I do it anyway.

Today she told me again that when she thinks of me, the first word that comes to mind is “Brave”.  I take these conversations and tuck them away for those days when I feel less than. Because even when I can’t see my strength, I know someone else has and that’s enough for me to believe it.


This is part of a three day quote challenge that I was unofficially nominated for by Bill over at Fargus Larbis.

Rules:

  • Post one quotation a day for three days (they can be from other sources or one of your own)
  • Nominate 3 other bloggers to participate per post
  • Thank the Blogger who nominated you

I don’t like to do nominations myself, so if you are a reader of my blog and find this interesting, consider yourself nominated.

About samlobos

I am an avid fan of creating narratives in my head about random experiences and quotes for future books I will probably not write. I harbor a 15 year old girl in my psyche and like to solve world issues when I'm half asleep. View all posts by samlobos

One response to “Three day quote challenge: Day Two

Leave a Reply

