Fate?

“You are trouble.”

The voice came from behind me. I whirled around and met a pair of sparkling hazel eyes. I blushed.

“What do you mean?” I asked coyly.

The eyes smiled, as well as the rest of his face. “I saw you rip that sign down.”

“Oh.” I had just finished making a ball into the piece of offensive paper. “It bothered me.” I did not hide my distain for the intolerance as I disposed of it.

“I agree. You just had the balls to do something about it.” His face was welcoming and his voice, teasing. He was flirting with me.

I smirked. There was a mix of confidence and vulnerability about him that made him charming.

“I do what needs to be done, that’s all.” I said, smiling. I suddenly felt very confident.

Something passed over his face that looked like discomfort and pleasure rolled into one. Like he didn’t know what to do with me but liked the feeling it gave him.

“I have a feeling you get away with a lot with that smile.” He was definitely flirting.

I laughed. The look on his face gave away how pleased he was of himself. I bit my lip. Even though he was harmless, there was an aggressiveness in his approach and it intrigued and intimidated me at the same time. I liked him immediately.

“I’m not that charming,” I said, trying to neutralize the electricity I felt crackling between us.

“Yes, you are.” He said it with certainty, as if he had known me his whole life.

I took a deep breath. I hadn’t realized I was holding it. “That’s a good line. You seem like you’ve had some practice with it.” I tried being sarcastic. Maybe that would level out the playing field. I felt myself slipping under his gaze.

“I actually am not in the practice of approaching strange women.” He had a sly look on his face.

“So you think I’m strange?” I feigned indignance.

He chuckled. I couldn’t help but think about how adorable it sounded. “You said it first. I’m just going to agree with you,” he said.

“Fair enough. Luckily for you, I don’t get offended too easily.” I could feel my eyes twinkle as I said it.

It was suddenly quiet and we looked at each other and then away as the tension became unbearable.

He held out his hand and said his name. As I went to shake it, I noticed the ring on his finger. Ah. I knew there was a catch.

I think he noticed me staring at it because he cracked a very corny joke. I smiled a half disillusioned, half wary smile.

“I better get going.” I said soberly.

“Okay.” He noticed the change in my tone and matched it, although his face looked disappointed.

As I started to walk away, I turned around and looked him in the eye and then down at his ring. His eyes followed mine. “I think you are the one that’s trouble,” I said and then turned away for good.

My heart started pounding as I felt his eyes burning into my back. Something in my gut told me this would not be the last time we would see each other.

I actively tried to forget his name as I got further and further away from him. But for some reason, it was all I could remember.

About samlobos

I am an avid fan of creating narratives in my head about random experiences and quotes for future books I will probably not write. I harbor a 15 year old girl in my psyche and like to solve world issues when I'm half asleep. View all posts by samlobos

11 responses to “Fate?

Leave a Reply

