Poltergeist

Missing

I see him everywhere.

He’s a phantom in my world.

I see him now, sitting across the booth from me.

I imagine him looking back at me, with those sweet eyes that sparkle when I’m in sight.

I see him smiling and I smile back, because I love his smile.

I feel his hand in mine when I’m walking around.

His long fingers intertwined firmly in mine.

I imagine coming home from work, greeting him with hugs and kisses.

I can practically smell him.

His image lays in the bed next to me, wrapping his warm body around mine.

I can almost feel the weight of it dipping into the mattress.

I see him next to me as I drive.

I hear his voice commenting on my carefully reckless driving.

He chuckles, that chuckle I’ve come to love.

He is everywhere but not here.

Because he’s only a memory, a figment of my imagination.

A ghost in the daily life I will never share with him.

Someone I will never touch.

Or taste.

Or show how much I love.

His essence is locked away in my heart, the last piece of him I can claim.

The only piece I can claim.

And there he will stay.

Haunting me.

My poltergeist.

I miss him.

About samlobos

I am an avid fan of creating narratives in my head about random experiences and quotes for future books I will probably not write. I harbor a 15 year old girl in my psyche and like to solve world issues when I'm half asleep. View all posts by samlobos

2 responses to “Poltergeist

Leave a Reply

