On forgiveness

I forgive you.

I’ve been hurt and angry.

Rightly so.

But I get it.

You didn’t want to hurt me anymore than I would want to hurt you.

At this moment, I’m working on acceptance.

This is how it is.

How it has to be.

I know why you stayed.

I understand.

I always did.

And I forgive you.

I’m releasing this pain.

You are free.

But,

don’t you dare stay stuck.

Don’t you dare become complacent again.

Or settle for any less than what you want and need.

That I will absolutely not forgive.

You owe me this much.

To work on your stuff.

To gain clarity and learn to ask for what you need.

And get it met.

I will hold you to that.

My blood is in that promise.

Don’t you dare have spilt it in vain.

Because if you did, I will haunt you.

For that, you will earn my wrath.

And you know me.

I mean what I say.

About samlobos

I am an avid fan of creating narratives in my head about random experiences and quotes for future books I will probably not write. I harbor a 15 year old girl in my psyche and like to solve world issues when I'm half asleep. View all posts by samlobos

4 responses to “On forgiveness

  • quietlylurkingaround

    Wow! I wish I could say I was were you are. I am struggling with forgiveness and acceptances.

    • samlobos

      I feel like I’ve cried and hashed it out alone so much that I’ve exhausted myself. Just allowing myself to feel the pain/anger/sadness as it comes and then expressing it has helped the healing along, even though there are times it feels like it’s made it worse. I still miss him horribly. But I feel like I’ve said all that I’ve needed to day to him and I’m fortunate that he’s not only receptive to it but also on the same page. And that’s why I love him so much. I will probably continue to struggle with acceptance, but I feel like I’m reaching the top of this hill and hopefully it’ll just get easier from here. You will get there too. Hugs.

      • quietlylurkingaround

        Maybe that’s why I’m struggling with forgiveness I never got to tell him all the hurt be caused in my life. I just can’t contact him now after 3 months it will set me back. Hopefully time will help the wounds ❤️I’m happy that you have found this I hope you find all the love and happiness you deserve

      • samlobos

        I haven’t necessarily told him everything directly. I’ve written about it, so maybe he’s read it, maybe he hasn’t. But what felt healing to me was just to get it outside of me, regardless. Thank you for the well wishes. I hope the same for you. Us women have to support each other.

Leave a Reply

