Remembrance

Do you remember calling me sweetheart and saying I love you as your imaginary hands caressed my face?

Holding up your white flag, you openly declared surrender to my love and you would never be the same again.

Remember how your dull eyes would light up with each message and how you smiled like a fool for hours?

You could not contain your giddiness, almost to the point of tears from joy.

Remember being sleep deprived because you stayed up past your bedtime to sit in silence with me?

You would rather linger sleepily on the phone than say goodbye.

Remember how you slept so well the morning after that one night?

You know the one.

Remember how you started to write things you hadn’t written in years, things you had forgotten about?

What lovely words.

Do you recall they way your heart would pound as you thought of me, fantasizing about what you would do if I were there?

The incessant longing drove you insane.

Remember when one day was one day too long and you almost begged in order to hear my voice just one more time?

I could never deny you of anything.

That night, when it all went down and your resolve was that of a button, you called to see if I was okay.

Remember that?

Remember when you couldn’t be satisfied, when all day wasn’t enough and you wished for the night as well?

That’s how much you wanted me.

Remember making plans, real plans for a real future with me in it?

You didn’t even hesitate.

Remember saying that you weren’t going anywhere, that there was no going back, that you were completely mine?

Yeah, I do too.

About samlobos

I am an avid fan of creating narratives in my head about random experiences and quotes for future books I will probably not write. I harbor a 15 year old girl in my psyche and like to solve world issues when I'm half asleep. View all posts by samlobos

2 responses to “Remembrance

Leave a Reply

