My human

She is very sad today.

More than she’s already been.

I am sitting next to her, keeping her company.

I sense a shift in her mood.

Her face is crumpled up and clear liquid is coming out of her eyes.

I kiss her hand, trying to comfort her.

To let her know I’m here.

She sadly smiles at me and gently rubs my head.

But the liquid won’t stop.

I’ve tasted it before.

It’s salty and I don’t much like it.

I am concerned.

I follow her around the apartment.

She sits, with a crumpled face and liquid running down her face for a long time.

She starts to talk to me.

I don’t understand most of it, but I can tell she is in pain.

Her voice sounds like whimpers and howls.

I kiss her legs as she talks.

And stare at her.

She moves to her bed.

There she lays for a long time, at first sniffling and then it is silent.

I settle in my own bed, tired of watching her sleep.

We sleep until the sun goes down.

I hear a rustling and I know she has finally gotten up.

I run to her, happy she is awake.

I’ve been waiting so patiently.

She greets me with a rub but she is distant.

She takes me outside, which is exciting.

She stares off while I sniff around.

We go back inside and I follow her around.

She picks me up and holds me tightly.

I can feel her love and pain radiate throughout me.

I grunt loudly, letting her know that I feel it.

I know she needs me to watch over her.

To stay with her.

To let her know she’s not alone.

I love her, my human.

About samlobos

I am an avid fan of creating narratives in my head about random experiences and quotes for future books I will probably not write. I harbor a 15 year old girl in my psyche and like to solve world issues when I'm half asleep. View all posts by samlobos

2 responses to “My human

Leave a Reply

