Make-believe

Can we just pretend that this is real

That I’m with you and you’re with me

In this imaginary world we inhabit

We are lords

Rules are ours to make and break

This land of make-believe

is filled with us

No obligations

No ties

No worries

Take my hand and we’ll make a run for it

I with my crown and you with your cape

If we hurry we can catch the next Pegasus

And he’ll fly us through the stars and just past the moon

There we will be safe

We can live off candy and ice cream

Sleep in all day

Stay up all night

We’ll dance with the children of the moon

And play games with the leprechauns

You lay in my lap while I stroke your hair as I sit in a field of lilies

We both wear black

But you like red and I like blue

It is only ever spring or fall because we decided it should be so

We have breakfast for dinner

And a button to stop time

There are never any delays when we talk

because we are right next to each other

In person

And we never stop laughing

About samlobos

I am an avid fan of creating narratives in my head about random experiences and quotes for future books I will probably not write. I harbor a 15 year old girl in my psyche and like to solve world issues when I'm half asleep. View all posts by samlobos

Leave a Reply

