The charmer

 


You are good at what you do

Here I was, thinking I could take you on, that I knew what I was in for. 

But oh, how wrong I was.

Gone was that idealistic boy, fairly harmless in his pursuit.

His persistence fueled by hope, by emotion.

Still innocent in a way. 

In his place is a man, a man who has been jaded, given what he has wanted, every whim fulfilled, so that emotion is no longer a necessity. 

This is the man I met.

But it was the boy I wanted.

It was the boy that I could have fallen in love with, if he still existed in this man. 

But that boy is long gone.

And it makes me sad. 

Because the man, he knows just what to say. 

He knows how to force his way into your head, make you believe that his intentions are good. 

He pushes boundaries, even as you resist, he finds a way to trick you into falling in line with his will. 

He does it so artfully. 

He has made a skill out of seeming so straightforwardly honest that he couldn’t possibly be lying. 

That he’s beyond telling you what you want to hear.

But that’s not true. 

Because he told me the things I wanted to hear.

He gave me false hope. 

But then when he realized I wasn’t going to play by his rules, that he could not break my will as easily as he a has manipulated others, he took those words back.

Because they were no longer necessary.

He wasn’t getting what he wanted from me and figured that he probably never would. 

So he dismissed me.

I do not fit into his world of women eager to please him and give what they have in order to get what little he gives back.

I do not subscribe to the same “understandings” with him as other women do. 

So I am unnecessary to him. 

Because he cannot get what he wants from me. 

He wants my body but not my heart. 

So I will remain an old fond memory and a kiss he always wanted. 

Nothing more. 

This charming man, he’s a snake that slithers and waits. 

He toys with his meal and enjoys the interaction. 

Encourages it even. 

Especially when it puts up a fight. 

But in the end, he’s the one with the full belly, at the other’s expense. 

For some reason he let me go.

Maybe nostalgia hit him and he couldn’t do it. 

He couldn’t finish the game he started with me. 

Even snakes have their moments of conscience. 

About samlobos

I am an avid fan of creating narratives in my head about random experiences and quotes for future books I will probably not write. I harbor a 15 year old girl in my psyche and like to solve world issues when I'm half asleep. View all posts by samlobos

3 responses to “The charmer

Leave a Reply

