To my future you

I lost the love of my life.

I lost her to fear, compliance, passivity, ingratitude, life.

Everyday little things that turned out to be big things. 

So I lost her, she lost me, we lost each other.

There’s a little part of me that feels I only had that one shot, that one experience of true love and that should be enough.

But it’s not. 

I’m not done yet.

I have so much love to give.

So I must wait.

I’m waiting for you.

My one. 

My second chance at love. 

I don’t know who you are yet or when we will meet. Maybe we have already. Only time can tell. 

I am working on me so I will be ready when we finally connect, when we become we.

For now I am me. I miss connection. I miss intimacy. I miss having a you. 

Because we all have an innate desire to connect, to love, to feel uniquely special to someone else. 

So I’m writing this for you, whoever you are. 

I will try to wait patiently. 

I hope you are waiting for me too. 

Because I know we’ll be worth the wait.

About samlobos

I am an avid fan of creating narratives in my head about random experiences and quotes for future books I will probably not write. I harbor a 15 year old girl in my psyche and like to solve world issues when I'm half asleep. View all posts by samlobos

Leave a Reply

