Insomnia

The moon shows his white cratered face, softly yawning in the twilight

His day is just beginning, just as mine is winding down

I lay in bed, the only time I cannot ignore that I am alone

I struggle to find a comfortable place, but there is no spot that will stop a racing mind

The melancholy wants to settle in like rolling fog, thick and dense, creeping over me like the darkness

The stars peak at me with cold light, offering no comfort

This is when I miss you

My sounding board

I miss the way we used to talk, the way you would hold me and tell me how things would be okay,

even if you weren’t sure of it yourself

I miss feeling you in bed, cuddling into your back and feeling your warmth

I miss knowing that no matter what, you were always there for me and I was there for you

I miss celebrating absolutely nothing with you, how we would make the most ordinary days special just by being together

I miss telling you everything and anything, knowing that you would understand exactly what I meant

I miss how you used to counteract my crazy

I miss the love we used to have

How connected I felt

But now in the darkness, I know that love is a distant memory

Over the years things changed

I changed, you changed

And so I cry for those days, I cry for what used to be, for what now is

I cry because I am alone and I left you alone

I cry because I don’t know what the future holds for either of us

And I don’t know if I will always be alone

So the night swallows me whole as I toss and turn, trying to fill my lonely head with anything

Anything to forget

Anything to have a restful nights sleep

Apart from you

About samlobos

I am an avid fan of creating narratives in my head about random experiences and quotes for future books I will probably not write. I harbor a 15 year old girl in my psyche and like to solve world issues when I'm half asleep. View all posts by samlobos

Leave a Reply

