In my head

Your words penetrate like poisoned arrows

Hitting their mark with such accurate precision

You’ve had lots of practice

The poison debilitates me, rendering me helpless to the meaning of what you say

Because you know me well

You know just how to hurt me, just how to get into my head

How to make me doubt myself and my own intentions

Because you like to think you are an expert on me

That you know everything about me, that you know exactly how I think

But you are wrong I’m not the same person you’ve known all these years

There are things about myself that have changed and evolved, changes you haven’t been willing to see or accept, even as it was happening

There are things you don’t know about me because I’ve just discovered them myself

So you see, your arrows don’t affect me the same, not anymore

Your poison stings, but no longer debilitates

Because I’m not the same girl

I am stronger than you have ever given me credit for

I am more independent than you think

I don’t need anyone to love me or to run to, I am capable on my own

And it no longer matters what you think of me

Your judgements have killed whatever positive regard I had for your opinion of me

Because I know you don’t see who I am, who I’ve become

You haven’t seen me for a long time

So how can you know me the way you claim to

How can you shoot your poisoned arrows at my heart with your eyes covered

What used to be a sure shot has now missed it’s mark

It still hit, but nothing that left me damaged

And eventually your arrows will fly right by me

So take your shot

Get in my head

You won’t be there for long

About samlobos

I am an avid fan of creating narratives in my head about random experiences and quotes for future books I will probably not write. I harbor a 15 year old girl in my psyche and like to solve world issues when I'm half asleep. View all posts by samlobos

Leave a Reply

