Shattered

I’m sorry I broke us. I watched as I smashed all that we built, destroyed all of our dreams, laid us to waste. Shards of what used to be us now crunch under our feet as we walk over the damage. That’s how it feels anyway. In pursuit of my own meaning, my own happiness, I had to break both of our hearts. This is a pain greater than I’ve ever known. They say time heals. I hope they are right. A new year, a new beginning. A year without you. I never thought that would happen. I never wanted to be without you. But I know you don’t want to be with me if you can’t have my heart too. So I say goodbye to you, you who has been such a vital part of my life, you who leaves a hole in my heart, you who I love just not the way you want. Maybe someday you’ll be able to forgive me and understand why. But for now I have to try to forgive myself and let you go so that we can both move on. I’m not sure how to do that. I will stumble and fail, but I will try. I will always miss you and feel your absence. But you need to heal and so do I. And if I’m honest with myself, the more I try to hold on to some part of us, the longer it will continue to hurt. I have to be on my own now and say goodbye to the one person I feel knows me inside and out.

About samlobos

I am an avid fan of creating narratives in my head about random experiences and quotes for future books I will probably not write. I harbor a 15 year old girl in my psyche and like to solve world issues when I'm half asleep. View all posts by samlobos

Leave a Reply

